Reason #1

Time.

In the last few weeks things in my life (job, social, projects, family, etc.) started really picking up and I noticed that it was harder to eat right and exercise.  It’s not that I had overwhelming cravings or feelings of laziness, but certain things demanded the time that I would have spent cooking at home or working out.  Social events especially require quite a bit of planning for them to be successful.  I don’t know if there will ever be a day when I can just show up at a BBQ and not plan ahead to opt for the veggies instead of potato salad, or chicken instead of burgers.

And so, the first reason that I am fat is because I have not allowed myself the time to think through my actions and find the activities and food that will benefit my long-term well-being.  I like how Mike puts it in his post today, making the “time to be honest”.  I spent a lot of my time doing other things.  And in fact, channeling my inner Scarlett O’Hara, I often said to myself, “I’ll worry about it tomorrow”.

Tomorrow is here and this journey takes time.  Time that I would have spent working more hours, shopping, eating restaurant prepared foods, or watching tv.  I’ve lost time and weight so far in this journey.

This entry was posted in Reasons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

